Skip to content

The University of Chester is organised into eight academic faculties, each of which is overseen by a faculty dean. Certain Support functions are also overseen by a dean. Deans of the University are as follows: 

Dean of Academic Quality and Enhancement

Dr Karen Willis, BA (Durham), PGCE, MA (Open), EdD (Bristol)

Executive Dean of Arts and Humanities

Professor Paul Johnson

Executive Dean of Business and Management

Professor Kurt Allman 

Executive Dean of Education and Children's Services

Professor David Cumberland, BA Hons (Liverpool), PGCE (Liverpool), PG Dip (Manchester Metropolitan), NPQH (Manchester), MA (Chester).

Executive Dean of Health and Social Care

Professor Angela Simpson, BA (Leeds Met), MA (Leeds), PGCert (Huddersfield), PhD (Newcastle), RMN, NMC.

Executive Dean of Medicine and Life Sciences


Executive Dean of Science and Engineering


Executive Dean of Social Science

Professor David Balsamo, BA (Middlesex), MSc (London), MSc (Oxford), DSocSci (Bristol), CQSW