Skip to content

The University of Chester is organised into eight academic faculties, each of which is overseen by a faculty dean. Certain Support functions are also overseen by a dean. Deans of the University are as follows: 

Dean of Academic Quality and Enhancement

Dr Karen Willis, BA (Dunelm), PGCE, MA (Open), EdD (Bristol)

Executive Dean of Arts and Media

Brendan O'Sullivan, GDipMus (Huddersfield), PGCE (Manchester Metropolitan), MA (Liverpool)

Executive Dean of Business and Management

Professor Ruth Ashford

Executive Dean of Education and Children's Services

Professor Anna Sutton, Cert Ed, BEd, MEd (Wales)

Executive Dean of Health and Social Care

Professor Annette McIntosh-Scott, BSc, PhD, Dip CNE, Cert Ed, RN, SCM, RCNT, RNT, FHEA

Executive Dean of Humanities

Professor Rob Warner, BA (hons) (York), MA (York), MA (Oxford), PhD (King's College, London)

Executive Dean of Medicine, Dentistry and Life Sciences

Dr Chris Haslam, BSc (Newcastle), PhD (Southampton), DMS (Open)

Executive Dean of Research, Postgraduate and Knowledge Transfer Professor

Professor Neville Ford, MA (Oxford), MSc (Manchester), PhD (Liverpool), FIMA, FHEA

Executive Dean of Science and Engineering

Professor Nicholas Avis, PhD (University of Sheffield) BSc (Hons) (University of Reading)

Executive Dean of Social Science

Professor David Balsamo, BA (Middlesex), MSc (London), MSc (Oxford), DSocSci (Bristol), CQSW

Dean of Students

Rev'd Dr Lesley Cooke, Cert. Ed, BEd (Hons) (Cantab), MA (Leeds), PhD (Leeds), DipTh, AFBPsS, CPsychol, FHEA.