Skip to content

The Centre for Foundation Studies is a teaching department at the university that specialises in the Foundation Year of study for our four-year extended degree courses.

There are six Foundation Year routes that integrate with a large proportion of the University’s undergraduate degree courses. These comprise the following: Business, Law and Social Sciences; Life Sciences; Creative Industries; Engineering and Computing; Education and Nursing; and Humanities.

Message from the Director of Foundation Years

"Welcome to the Centre for Foundation Studies. We are a teaching department at the University of Chester and we specialise in the teaching of all of the University’s Foundation Years. We pride ourselves on being student-focused and offer a highly supportive learning environment for students undertaking the Foundation Year portion of their four-year extended degrees. I am proud to be working alongside a dedicated team of academics who teach exclusively on Foundation Years; they are consistently commended by their students for their dedication to teaching and student support across all subjects."

Jan O'Driscoll, Director of Foundation Years

Centre for Foundation Studies
Gateway House, 86 Northgate Street
United Kingdom