Skip to content

This annual prize is awarded in memory of Professor Derek Alsop (1960-2019).

Derek was former Head of the English Department, poet and flash-fiction writer, Restoration and eighteenth-century literature specialist, Beckett critic, and impenitent open‑mic night enthusiast.

The prize will be a £50.00 book token, awarded to the winner at the magazine's launch event.

The judges will be members of the Department.

If you win (and even if you don’t), Derek would say that you must read Samuel Beckett’s Complete Dramatic Works, Rochester’s Selected Poems, and Laurence Sterne’s Tristram Shandy.

Professor Derek Alsop photo